The Sound of Silence That Tells You Your Work Is Finished

How to know when to submit, when to keep editing, and when to press pause

Aimee Liu
6 min readDec 22, 2023

--

Photo by Ernie A. Stephens on Unsplash

My agent once called me a “finisher.” It was a nod to my persistence, since I can take anywhere from two to seventeen years to finish writing a book — I don’t give up easily. But I seem to be going for a new record with the family memoir that’s now giving me the side-eye from my desk’s darkest corner.

I started work on this project when my father died in 2007. It moved in and out of focus as I ghosted four other books over the intervening years, but in 2021, I believed I’d finished it. My agent disagreed. He said the voice was off, the structure didn’t work. It didn’t pack the punch he’d need to sell it to a major house

I mentioned a small press that might publish it as-is, but my agent asked if I really wanted to undersell myself. I was sorely tempted to say, yes. I yearned to be finished with this project. Fourteen years is a long time. And yet, I knew it was still too soon to quit.

The project had merit, my agent was telling me. It just hadn’t yet found the form that would let it sing. I knew he was right.

One year later, I thought I might have identified the right form, but I’d barely begun to revise the memoir (for the…

--

--

Aimee Liu

Author, Asian-American novels (Glorious Boy), nonfiction on eating disorders (Gaining), writing, wellness. Published @Hachette. MFA & more@ aimeeliu.net