WRITING & PUBLISHING

Pathos and Bathos in “The Crown”

Discovering the royal keys to addictive drama

Aimee Liu
5 min readNov 27, 2020

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

pathos

1 : an element in experience or in artistic representation evoking pity or compassion

2 : an emotion of sympathetic pity

bathos

1 : an abrupt, presumably unintended juxtaposition of the exalted and the commonplace, producing a ludicrous effect

2 : insincere or overdone pathos : sentimentalism

One of my creative writing students recently mentioned the twinning of pathos and bathos in a book she was reading, and I realized I’d never given this twinning much thought. As soon as I did, however, I found myself thinking a lot about it in relation to The Crown, as well as to the documentary Diana: In Her Own Words and Stephen Frears’s 2006 film The Queenall of which my husband and I have just finished binge-watching in one fevered gulp (thank you, Netflix).

The spell that these tales of royals cast over us mystified me even as we succumbed to it. Neither of us swoon at monarchy. Hard-core realists, we’re repelled by Disneyesque fairy-tales that spin sugared webs around the kleptocracy of kingdom. No surprise to us that every palace is a gilded cage, but not much…

--

--

Aimee Liu

Author, Asian-American novels (Glorious Boy), nonfiction on eating disorders (Gaining), writing, wellness. Published @Hachette. MFA & more@ aimeeliu.net